School Council

 Welcome to the SAC School Council Information Page
 The Sir Arthur Currie PS School Council is a group of staff, community partners, and family members that work together to guide the direction of the school, including academic achievement, school budget, parent and student engagement, extracurricular activities, and much more. Membership on School Council is established each September, but meetings are open to all family members with children at the school. If you are interested in attending meetings or helping on a working group, please contact
Sub Committees

School Council has several Sub-Committees that support different priorities at the school. Each group is run by a chair who is responsible for setting up and running meetings. You do not need to be a member of council to be part of a working group. If you are interested in helping, please contact the chair of the working group to volunteer your time!

Fundraising (Chair: Carla Badawi - The purpose of this group is to find new fun ways to raise money for our school and volunteer time to help bring these fundraisers to life. Some of the items we are fundraising for include a naturalized playground, a school sign, instruments for the music program, technology for the classrooms, among many other items!

Parent Involvement (Chair: Sarah Chatham - The purpose of this group is to work together to find new and creative ways to get parents involved in the school community. This involves volunteering in classrooms, having consistent and meaningful conversations between parents and the school, and having parents help support the school and classroom through their skills, experiences, and culture.


School Travel Planning (Chair: Andrew Clark - The purpose of this group is to increase the safety and number of children using active modes of transportation (and school bus when eligible) and decrease the number of students driven to and from school. The current Action Plan can be viewed here (PDF).

Sir Arthur Currie By-Laws
Sir Arthur Currie Council By-Laws
 Council Members

SAC School Council 2021_2022

Position Name
Past Chair Andrew Clark
Co Chair Traci Cummings
Co - Chair Jacklyn Varanelli
Secretary Sara Johnson
Treasurer Amanda Sousa
Community Member Steph Hamel
Community Member Christine Lozon
Staff Member Lora Neal
Administrator Sue Bruyns
Administrator Joanna Letsos
Administrator Sharon Bryant
Member at Large Lindsay Orr
Member at Large Branko Vojnovic
Member at Large Sarah Cheatham
Member at Large Geetika Sharma
Member at Large Cheryl Hames-Clark
Member at Large Jason Miller
Member at Large Michael Knauer
Member at Large Carla Badawi
Member at Large Mir Hasan
Member at Large Anna Ferrira, 
Member at Large Cory Comrie
Member at Large Shaheda Banu
Member at Large Rema El-Tawli, 
Member at Large Jenn Charlton


 Meeting Dates ~ At this time, meetings are happening via Zoom at 6:30 pm

October 4

November 1

December 6

January 10

February 7

March 7

April 4

May 2

June 6 

 Meeting Minutes

October 2019

November 2019

December 2019

January 2020

October 2020

November 2020

December 2020

October 2021

November 2021

December 2021

 Meeting Agendas